» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:25 am

» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

Share | 

newbie here....what cacti is this????

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
chocolatecatt

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2010-04-02

PostSubject: newbie here....what cacti is this????   Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:02 pm

Hi all,

We have a lovely mature cactus in our front garden and whilst I love it, my husband does not. Someone from a few houses down has told us they want to buy it (!) and I was just wondering if anyone here can id it first (we've only owned the house a few years and the garden was established when we moved in)? And if you have any idea, what on earth would one charge for it, if anything???

My pics aren't the best.....our cactus is about 2m tall (probably a bit under actually) and probably stretches out 2m as well. Lots of nice pale yellow flowers come out each morning. Really quite nice to look at

Back to top Go down
Hellonasty
Admin

Number of posts : 1824
Registration date : 2008-04-04

PostSubject: Re: newbie here....what cacti is this????   Fri Apr 02, 2010 3:23 pm

Your cactus looks like Cereus Peruvianus var Monstrose. A common plant, but this one is quite nice due to its size.

I wouldn't sell the entire plant just take a cutting, they grow readily from cuttings. Search this forum or google for a guide on propagating from a cutting.

My Cacti Blog, please come visit me.

http://astrophytum-and-friends.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down
scarab

Number of posts : 70
Registration date : 2009-08-22