» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:25 am

» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

Share | 

Rescuing a neglected cactus...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lachy

Number of posts : 733
Registration date : 2008-04-05

PostSubject: Rescuing a neglected cactus...   Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:41 pm

G'day all...

Here's another mini-project of mine.

A bit over a week ago I pulled into a local nursery, where I found a very crook-looking Trich. It was sitting in the corner of a neglected greenhouse. The soil it was growing in was dry, powdery and looked to be completely without anything a plant needs to survive. I don't think it had ever been watered. The plant was dehydrated, shrunken and appeared to be suffering sunburn, scale, and some sort of weird skin condition that may be fungal in origin.

In short, it was a pretty crook looking plant.

From what I can tell, it's a T. scopulicola. It's still pretty shrivelled due to its prior mistreatment, but I reckon with a bit of TLC, I might be able to get the bugger to grow, and with a bit of luck turn it into a decent plant.

At this stage I've given it a bigger pot, fresh cacti mix and it's had a decent amount of rainwater.

At this early stage it's still looking fairly poorly...

However if you look at the growing tip, you can see that even in a week something's starting to happen

Here's some of the damage in close up. Any idea how to treat this? Or what caused it in the first place?

Back to top Go down
blowng
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 256
Registration date : 2008-10-28