» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

Share | 

Bug magnets!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
cryptocarpa
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 268
Registration date : 2009-03-14

PostSubject: Bug magnets!   Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:22 pm

Seems no matter what you do some plants just attract bugs. Like Super-Kabuto, that is almost tailor made to hide mealies.
Then there are the species that get mite really bad like L.diffusa seems to get them worse than L. williamsii. On that note does anyone have a good mite cure? Up till now I have just sprayed them off with a jet of water but they look to be building up a bit at the moment.
This species below always gets the mealies too. From memory it is Eriocyse islayensis v. copiapoides(can't be bothered checking the spelling). It does look like a copiapoa though.
Does anyone else have any bug prone plants?
Back to top Go down
Lachy

Number of posts : 733
Registration date : 2008-04-05

PostSubject: Re: Bug magnets!   Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:11 pm

I find both pachanoi and bridgesii get snailed a fair bit, nearly always at the growing point. A similar thing happens to a couple of opuntiads that I grow. I've had Melocactus that gets mealey all the time, and there's a particular Rebutia... maybe albiflora? that seems to go brown and shrivels up at the slightest provocation and I suspect some sort of bug is the cause. Otherwise, most of my plants are reasonably hardy.
Back to top Go down
TasV

Number of posts : 145
Registration date : 2010-03-12