» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

Share | 

dealing with epic amounts of cacti waste?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
prier

Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2008-04-04

PostSubject: dealing with epic amounts of cacti waste?   Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:40 pm

hey all,
I'm workin on a friends cacti garden up on the north coast of nsw. been a while since i was last here and the place has become completly overrun.
in 3 days i've already accumulated about two square meters of cacti and succulent waste. mainly agaves, cereus and opuntias.
Now what to do with all this shite? My thoughts were to build a bonfire over the top of it all, and let it burn. got a feeling this could be a lot of work. anyone have any experience with this kinda thing? or any one got some good ideas?

cheers.
prier.
Back to top Go down
blowng
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 256
Registration date : 2008-10-28

PostSubject: Re: dealing with epic amounts of cacti waste?   Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:39 pm

compost ? breaks down fairly quickly in a compost bin i have noticed after pruning my sprawling opuntias
Back to top Go down
prier

Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2008-04-04

PostSubject: Re: dealing with epic amounts of cacti waste?   Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:52 pm

we tried that a few years ago. it's really hard to stop it all from growing and when we did we found it tends to turn to slime with spines, stinky stuff, really hard to handle.