» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

Share | 

re-potting

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
sacred pedro

Number of posts : 53
Registration date : 2008-04-30

PostSubject: re-potting   Tue May 06, 2008 5:46 pm

just wandering if it's safe to re-pot a couple of trich's this time of year? or would i be best off waiting till spring? i have quite a large peruvianus that is in a very small pot and has started to grow roots out of the draining holes! also would it be ok to repot well calloused 20cm tip cuttings?
peace
Back to top Go down
trigonus
Admin & Cactus Fiend

Number of posts : 879
Registration date : 2008-01-23

PostSubject: Re: re-potting   Tue May 06, 2008 5:59 pm

The answer to this is simple. Wait until spring.

slim6y
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 176
Registration date : 2008-04-26

PostSubject: Re: re-potting   Tue May 06, 2008 6:10 pm

How does that go for us folk in the tropics Trig? The winter here is more like the cactus' usual temperatures (I'd think - maybe not as hot). I assume it's best to wait till the dead of winter (around July) for repotting here... would that make sense?

Winter here can range from 18 - 32'C and spring 22 - 35'C with humidity rising past 80%.

Lucky the rains don't start till January.
Back to top Go down
trigonus
Admin & Cactus Fiend

PostSubject: Re: re-potting   Tue May 06, 2008 6:30 pm

Yeah anytime is probably ok for you tropical dwellers. Lucky.

In Melbourne though, at this time of year, I wouldn't even really consider it.