» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

Share | 

Cactus needs urgent help! Please advise.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kaktus

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2012-01-08

PostSubject: Cactus needs urgent help! Please advise.   Sun Jan 08, 2012 6:55 am

I hope someone on the forum might be able to offer some advice in saving a small indoor cactus.

About two months ago, the cactus fell over because it had become rotten at the base. After looking on the internet for advice on reviving it, I cut off the rotten part of the base and stabilised it in a mixture of sand and potting soil.

The cactus seemed to be doing quite well until two days ago when it fell over again. I noticed only limited evidence of roots--only 2mm long at best. The stem is now translucent and soft. The prickly top is still green and hard to the touch. Water has begun dripping from the bottom of the base of the stem.

Do you think the cactus can be saved, and if so what would be the best course of action to save/regrown it?

Here are some images of the cactus:

Showing the (still?) healthy top:
i46.servimg.com/u/f46/17/16/83/60/cactus10.jpg

As before, showing the top:
i46.servimg.com/u/f46/17/16/83/60/cactus11.jpg

Showing the rotten stem:
i46.servimg.com/u/f46/17/16/83/60/cactus12.jpg

Could the small round clusters at the top be removed and successfully regrown?
Back to top Go down
Navajoa

Number of posts : 599
Registration date : 2009-09-15