» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:25 am

» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

Share | 

Problem Parasite killing my cacti

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
IXOXI
Cereus about Cacti

Number of posts : 521
Registration date : 2011-12-08

PostSubject: Problem Parasite killing my cacti   Sat Dec 22, 2012 6:47 pm

Hi everyone, a couple of my friends and I have gotten this thing that looks like brown scale, but has this little thread that goes into the cacti from the center of the underside of the round scale thing.
Here is a couple of close up photos of these nasty spot things after pulling them off the cacti, and 2 of our cacti that are infected.
If anyone knows anything about these or how to handle them, it would really be appreciated. So far the only thing that we have been able to do is pull them off as they appear, but they keep leaving pits in the cacti.

Back to top Go down
http://www.cacticube.com
SnowFella
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 218
Registration date : 2010-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Problem Parasite killing my cacti   Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:25 pm

That somehow looks more fungal to me than scale, or some kind or parasite growing and sending "roots" into the plant.
Back to top Go down
Charlie

Number of posts : 118
Registration date : 2008-09-14

PostSubject: Re: Problem Parasite killing my cacti   Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:20 am

I don't know.

One guess would be that its fungal. Maybe that bit underneath is some kind of fruiting body.