HomeGalleryFAQRegisterLog in
Latest topics
» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

» Hi from Melbourne
by jennym Mon May 29, 2017 6:38 pm

Share | 

Seed Propagating help

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
SneakyCuttlefish

Number of posts : 705
Registration date : 2012-12-11

PostSubject: Seed Propagating help   Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:19 pm

Hi guys,

Desperately need some advice with a recent planting. I planted 1500 seeds into a hot box and placed them under my light. Unfortunately I was in a hurry on Friday and I either didn't sterilize the soil properly or I didn't allow for the soil to drain. By Sunday I had patches of mold appearing on the soil. I took the lid off today and placed them in the sun to try to kill the mold and allow a bit of moisture out.

Will that work and if not what could I do to kill of the mold without effecting the seeds?
Back to top Go down
Cereoid

Number of posts : 137
Registration date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Seed Propagating help   Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:14 pm

What are they? My only experience is with Hylocereus so if they are a desert species then my input might not be very useful.
I don't know much but a good fungicide might work. I like sulfur but something water soluble might be better in this instant. If you have mold then another serious danger is attack by insects, so if you cannot get rid of the mold then make sure to keep it sealed when you're not looking.
Back to top Go down
Hellonasty
Admin

Number of posts : 1824
Registration date : 2008-04-04