HomeGalleryFAQRegisterLog in
Latest topics
» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

» Hi from Melbourne
by jennym Mon May 29, 2017 6:38 pm

Share | 

Watering question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Walker87
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 298
Registration date : 2014-03-01

PostSubject: Watering question    Mon Sep 29, 2014 11:48 am

Hey folks!
Have a question about watering bought about because one of my stenocactus aborted flowering and I am wondering if this is due to lack of water and so am wondering if this could be affecting the others as well.
Generally speaking I water the ones who like a bit extra to drink every 7-10 days (weather is also a factor)
The ones who don't drink as much every 14 days or so, again depending on the weather.

I use a few different substrate mixes but basically they are mostly scoria, sand, pumice, pebbles and a very small amount of organic matter (sifted potting mix, coco coir)

If the weather is warm and windy which it has been the pots dry out in as little as 2 days.
Everything is growing and growing quite quickly, new spines and flowers are popping up every day almost.
Just wondering whether it would be a good idea to give them a little more water and take advantage of their growth spurt or should I refrain and not run the risk of drowning them.
I haves quite a few mexican and Chilean cacti which I am very hesitant to over water.

Thoughts?
Back to top Go down
SneakyCuttlefish

Number of posts : 705
Registration date : 2012-12-11

PostSubject: Re: Watering question    Tue Sep 30, 2014 3:34 pm