» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:25 am

» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

Share | 

Flooding method to watering

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
lazycorn

Number of posts : 7
Registration date : 2015-01-10

PostSubject: Flooding method to watering   Sat Jan 10, 2015 7:22 pm

Hi all. I have just accidentally chance upon this forum today since i started the succulent obsession 2 months ago. This looks like a great site. I suspect i will camp out here a lot now on :p

Quick question that is burning in my mind and i can't seem to find the answer on the internet (Please forgive me if this has been discussed elsewhere in the forum):

I read from various sources that the best way to water is by 'flooding', infrequently but thoroughly. So i tried it first time yesterday, by immersing the pots into a bucket of water until it covers the rim fully. Bubbles come up through the soil and pebbles but problem is, sometimes whole chunks of soil floats up too. In an extreme case, my crassula muscosa was disloadged as the roots became unstuck!

So my question is (are):
1. Is this your preferred way to water your plants?
2. IF so, how do you prevent soil from floating upwards in chunks?
3. Are there better ways of watering that is thorough? How about watering from the top and using a saucer at the bottom so water run-offs can be sucked back in from the bottom?

Really appreciate any input/feedback you can give me.

Thank you.
Back to top Go down
Walker87
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 298
Registration date : 2014-03-01