» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

Share | 

Problems with my penises. Echinopsis lageniformis monstrose that is.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Squil

Number of posts : 34
Registration date : 2008-05-28

PostSubject: Problems with my penises. Echinopsis lageniformis monstrose that is.   Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:17 pm

I moved this Summer from a house with a shady courtyard with practically no full sun to a house with a backyard that gets exposed to the full merciless power of Helios from about 1pm onwards.

In all the moving stress I simply did not think of the cacti, put them in the backyard and in two afternoons they got hammered. Included in the carnage was this Echinopsis bridgesii monstrose.

The scarring from sun damage was quite severe as you can see but he soldiered on nonetheless and continued to put out new growth until the dormant season.

I've been wintering him outside, under cover of the verandah where he gets direct morning sun till around 10-11am. I have probably watered him only twice since May.

I'm worried because he's losing his turgidity, shrivelling a little and just generally looking a bit scabby.

Do you think this is anything more than dehydration? We have had a few frosts but he's undercover so I'm assuming that shouldn't be a worry. Any suggestions on how I can get him back on track ready to pounce into growth with the Spring? Should I water it?