HomeGalleryFAQRegisterLog in
Latest topics
» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

» Hi from Melbourne
by jennym Mon May 29, 2017 6:38 pm

Share | 

Re: The Genus Ariocarpus

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Hellonasty
Admin

Number of posts : 1824
Registration date : 2008-04-04

PostSubject: Re: The Genus Ariocarpus   Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:28 pm

Re the genus Ariocarpus:

I have created this in response to the watering thread, I was only going to write a little bit on sand but got carried away.

First I will say growing this genus successfully and most importantly vigorously is an art form and takes many years of experience to master. I dont claim to have excellent knowledge and expertise, the following is simply my opinion and what I have read and experienced.

The problem with growing Ariocarpus vigorously is two fold; first they have a huge tap root which is a hindrance as much as its a blessing. The tap root is used to store water more so than nutrients, which is an adaptation by the plant to survive long periods without water and this consequently makes the plant VERY susceptible to rot if over watered.