» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

Share | 

Been stuck/pricked/spined by your cacti before?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Squil

Number of posts : 34
Registration date : 2008-05-28

PostSubject: Been stuck/pricked/spined by your cacti before?   Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:49 pm

I visited the collection of a quite prolific cactus grower recently and we talked of the dangers of falling in a cactus patch.

Both custodians of this impressive garden told me stories of the various cactus-related injuries they had experienced in the past. I was told that a serious wound to the hand resulted in an arthritis-like pain for days after.

Apparently there is little known about the action of this irritation however the phenomenon seems familiar enough to experienced cactus-heads.

I've been thinking about it recently. Either the spines have an innately injurious substance or nature or they are essentially inert and it is an immune reaction that causes the grief in victims of spine-pricks.

I'd be interested in hearing people's experience with pricks, especially the genus of cacti involved, the severity of the injury and the after-effects in full gory detail.

I'd also be interested in tracking down electron micrographs of cactus spine morphology if anyone has any idea where to find these.
Back to top Go down
Hellonasty
Admin

Number of posts : 1824
Registration date : 2008-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Been stuck/pricked/spined by your cacti before?   Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:10 pm