» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:25 am

» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

Share | 

earwigs...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
lewis
avid contributor & moderator

Number of posts : 862
Registration date : 2008-05-07

PostSubject: earwigs...   Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:33 pm

Okay I have a pest problem in my greenhouse now which I think has the potential to become serious if I don't do anything about it soon. My collection is getting plagued by earwigs. They will go for just about anything but seem to favour fresh soft new growth, especially that on grafts and columnars. The worse individual case thus far was a small loph graft on peresk whereby the earwigs literally hollowed out the growth point and the some of the body. fortunately said plant healed over fine and is now pupping. Many plants have sustained minor damage, it seems to heal over okay but marks the plant and more so I fear the possibility of the holes becoming infected and rot set in, especially if water should come into contact with them.
Anyway has anyone here had any success controlling these?
I would love to hear of any control methods.
oh and i hate them a lot ~ It's just not cool going into the greenhouse in the morning to discover yet more fresh destruction.
Back to top Go down
lewis

PostSubject: Re: earwigs...   Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:55 pm

WTF- earwigs can FLY!!??
http://www.flickr.com/photos/antbbx/3132932741/
I have NEVER seen an earwig fly.. crazy things they are. what are they trying to do take over the world?..